Shop 9, Unilag Shopping Complex, Unilag Junction, Yaba, Lagos+234 805 4235 433

Ranking System for Hunter X Hunter License and Ranks of Characters

In the universe of Hunter x Hunter, becoming a Hunter is the ultimate symbol of prestige. 

Hunters are exceptional individuals who have passed a demanding examination that tests not only their physical abilities but also their intelligence, creativity, and mastery of Nen.

Upon successfully completing this examination, candidates are granted a license by the Hunter Association.

The Hunter license resembles a credit card in appearance, but it is slightly thicker and contains an integrated computer chip.

This license bestows various privileges to its holder, including financial compensation, access to exclusive information, legal protection, and more.

Nevertheless, these privileges differ depending on the rank and type of license held.

Hunter License Star System Elucidated

Gon Hunter License CardGon Hunter License Card
Gon Freecss’ Hunter License Card

The Hunter license rank system is utilized to indicate a Hunter’s level of achievements and contributions.

However, it is not a direct measure of the Hunter’s overall strength and abilities.

There are numerous formidable Hunters who do not possess a high rank, and some rank holders are not particularly powerful. 

When assessing a character’s strength, one should bear in mind that the star system is not absolute.

It’s essential to note that the show does not provide a lot of details on the ranking system or the specific process by which characters earn their ranking. 

This article is based on what we know from the show and should be viewed as an overview of the subject.

Hunter License Star Ranks In Order (Lowest to Highest)

  • Licensed Hunter (Zero-Star Hunter)
  • 1 Star (Single-Star Hunter)
  • 2 Star (Double-Star Hunter)
  • 3 Star (Triple-Star Hunter)

4. Licensed Hunter (Zero-Star Hunter)

An ordinary licensed Hunter is one who has passed the Hunter examination and been granted a license by the Hunter Association. 

They do not have any stars assigned to their license, indicating that they have not yet reached a high level of experience or contribution. 

While they are still entitled to some privileges, they are not on the same level as Hunters who have at least earned a star on their license.

3. 1 Star (Single-Star Hunter)

A single-star hunter is a Hunter who has earned one star on their license. 

This indicates that they have reached a certain level of skill and experience and have made significant contributions to society.

Examples of single-star hunters include Morel Mackernasey and Cutie Beauty, two outstanding hunters who have made substantial contributions in their respective fields. 

They may not hold the same level of privileges as their upper star-bearing counterparts, but they are on a path toward unlocking the full potential of a true Hunter.

2. 2 Star (Double-Star Hunter)

Double-star hunters are regarded as elite members of the hunter profession.

To be granted this rank, candidates must meet certain requirements set by the Hunter Association. 

This includes adhering to the first five articles of the Hunter Bylaws, which are the association’s collection of rules and regulations. 

Additionally, they must hold a position of authority and have mentored at least one junior student who has earned a star.

Examples of double-star hunters include Biscuit Krueger and Ging Freecss, two renowned hunters known for their continuous contributions to society. 

1. 3 Star (Triple-Star Hunter)

This is the rarest and most challenging rank to obtain in the world of hunters. 

Out of the hundreds of Hunters in the Hunter Association, There are only roughly 3 Triple-Star Hunters.

Candidates applying for this rank must have fulfilled the first six articles of the Hunter Bylaws and have made outstanding contributions to a variety of fields.

Read more: HxH Nen Ranking System Explained

Hunter X Hunter Character Hunter License Ranks Table 

Character Hunter License Star Rank
Botobai Gigante Triple-Star Hunter
Cheadle Yorkshire Triple-Star Hunter
Pariston Hill Triple-Star Hunter
Biscuit Krueger Double-Star Hunter
Ging Freecss Double-Star Hunter
Linne Horsdoeuvre Double-Star Hunter
Mizaistom Nana Double-Star Hunter
Saccho Kobayakawa Double-Star Hunter
Teradein Neutrals Double-Star Hunter
Bushidora Ambitious Single-Star Hunter
Cutie Beauty Single-Star Hunter
Ickshonpe Katocha Single-Star Hunter
Menchi Single-Star Hunter
Morel Mackernasey Single-Star Hunter
Sanbica Norton Single-Star Hunter
Tsezguerra Single-Star Hunter
Gon Freecss Licensed Hunter
Kurapika Licensed Hunter
Hisoka Morow Licensed Hunter
Hanzo Licensed Hunter
Pokkle Licensed Hunter
Illumi Zoldyck Licensed Hunter
Killua Zoldyck Licensed Hunter
Leorio Paradinigh Licensed Hunter

What Level Hunter Is Gon Freecs?

Gon Jajanken TechniqueGon Jajanken Technique

Gon is a Novice Hunter and doesn’t have a star ranking (zero-star hunter).

To become a higher-ranked Hunter, it’s important to have a specific area of expertise and make substantial contributions to society. 

However, Gon’s principal motivation for becoming a Hunter was to find his father and not to climb the ranks of the Hunter Association. 

Although he is strong and capable, he does not meet the criteria for earning stars and climbing the ranks. 

It’s important to remember that the Hunter license ranking system measures Hunter’s achievements and contributions, not their overall strength and abilities.

Read more: 20 Strongest Characters in Hunter x Hunter

Does Gon Meet His Dad?

Hunter x Hunter - Gon meets Ging Hunter x Hunter - Gon meets Ging

Yes, Gon did eventually meet his father in the anime. They first met in episode 146 after Gon had only seen his photograph for years, and all Ging could say was “Yo”.

They met again in episode 148 on top of the world tree and had a conversation about their aspirations, adventures, and future goals. 

The anime ended with episode 148 and according to the manga, they are still in contact.

Animed Merch Store
Shopping cart